julie spotting

i went into town today with a few specific things to do….pick up my ticket to canterbury (check) and get a passport type pic for the interview(check).

sorry to be crude but after a post menstrual time of about 24 hours i was distressed to get off the bus in town…well, how should i say this…i’m glad there weren’t any piranhas around. perhaps i have a rare disease where the lining of the uterus is only shed at work, on public transportation or in public places…

to qualify this, i haven’t used my very scary tablets for two months but still…. i am on the verge of 51 fucking years old!!!!! when i am i going to have the menopause????

i was too hot and caught my reflection in a window looking really pale…or is that just my british self? my savior, the man rescued me and gave me something to lean on. we had an unusually alcohol fueled meal at cafe rouge, lots of good discussion. thanks, dear…

walking down new street i saw a fast moving figure who looked very familiar, i called “julie…JULIE!” she didn’t hear me and the man questioned whether i was sure it was her….i was sure and when i ran up and tapped her shoulder… it was her!

i am always amazed when i see someone i know in my adopted city….since i only know a handful of people here.

seeing julie was a real treat, she had plenty to say about her in laws, the new baby and the thank you card and the man was able to see it’s not just me who talks funny and has a short fuse….

by the way, for all those who think all i do is complain….

let me just say

i have not had heat or hot water for over a week!!!

did you hear one word about that???  NO!!!!

wednesday 0930 the repairman is due to arrive….if it’s not fixed after that i will be bitching like there is no tomorrow. every moment will be an eternity and every conversation will be recorded here in detail.

do you think he knows the pressure he is under???

9 thoughts on “julie spotting

  1. LOL, and I was so busy talking about myself I never even asked you how you were…you didn’t look alcohol fuelled! 🙂

    Hey, that 10 minutes made my day though – it was good talking to you both.

    And I’ll say the other thing I forgot to say last night…break a leg for the interview!! I hope you get a good chance to see Canterbury…take a camera and share!

    You looked pale? I’m always too red….

  2. it’s partly my own fault…time and money…but i always have a hard time getting work done here… either i get ripped off or they just don’t show up….

    i never know if it’s because i’m a single woman or american or both?

    but thinking about it, i have booked this guy that’s coming tomorrow online so he doesn’t know either about me!! so hopefully he will show up and stick to the quote he gave!

    elizabeth, having a husband in this country really helps for stuff like this…i had to ask people at work what that big white thing is on the wall in my kitchen!! i have done lots of reading up on heating systems and how they work here….

  3. Although having a husband is no guarantee…if I asked my DH what that big white thing is on the wall in the kitchen, he’d more than likely say ‘an albino spider’…he certainly has no clue as to how they work…(boilers that is, not spiders!!)

    Hope they get it fixed soon!

Leave a comment