hearing myself talking

this morning i was walking out from work with a nurse, of jamaican decent. i just assumed she was a british citizen by birth or naturalizition. i was taken aback when she said she is still on a work permit!!!  i don’t like to pry but when she said even though she has been here 10 years she is still on a work permit i had to ask why….

she came to do her nurse training here, that doesn’t count towards residency, the clock starts over from the beginning when you start working. she also fell under the 4 to 5 year changes like me so she is hoping she will get permanent residency this year.

talking to her sounded like i was listening to myself last year….she said she feels trapped…she’s been so depressed about it she’s gone for counseling and she’s recently paid £300-400 for a new work permit so she could change jobs!!! something i never even knew you could do…

she said that nobody understands how difficult it is~~~~

i gave her a big hug and told her i know just how she feels….

4 thoughts on “hearing myself talking

  1. I hope she does as well…I’m very, very close to starting the process myself, and apparently the UKBA has changed waiting times for ILR to up to SIX MONTHS!!! Needless to say, I’m hoping my MP comes through with some good news soon…

  2. As you can imagine, I’m not looking forward to that if I have to do that – and I don’t know at this point if it’s actually taken them six months to process someone’s visa. And then they want even more money for the thing!

Leave a Reply

