sprained not broken

i got up this morning as usual at the ungodly hour of 5am-took a shower, made my bed and gathered up some stuff to take downstairs with me …phone, gym shoes, dirty laundry and workout bag….

i tiptoed down and here’s the key item….did not turn on the light….

i thought i was at the last stair but…wrong!! fell right on my big, fat, flat twisted foot!!

amazingly, my mom, who can hear a cell phone vibrating 1/2 a mile away did not hear the thud or me moaning at the bottom of the stairs…the dog let out a a small bark but otherwise…nada!

i finally got up and hobbled to the kitchen, put my laundry in the washer, fill a baggie with ice and plopped down on the sofa.

the swelling came up immediately…..the pain? oh the pain!!!

as some one who has had appendicitis, a c section and 2 further childbirths i can say i am no stranger to pain…i actually consider myself pretty tough in the pain department and this hurts like hell…tears in my eyes hurts.

the scary thing about those pictures?? how big are my calves!?!

and how do i know it’s not broken??

i had a brief , not brief enough visit to the ER this morning…sometimes i think i make it too easy for nurses…i give them my history exactly as i know it fits in their form. no more, no less. i did think they took way too long…if i had an xray machine in my garage i could have done the rest myself!!!

many thanks to my brother for getting up really early to take me to the hospital…and sitting with me~~

2 thoughts on “sprained not broken

Leave a comment