maybe I was a little harsh…

Yesterday I called the one person in my 5 person department who made my work life so impossible and created a lot of tension for everyone a cunt. Afterward I thought maybe I should look up the definition of that word because perhaps I misunderstood its meaning.

according to Wikipedia

cunt is described as “an unpleasant or stupid person” in the Compact Oxford English Dictionary

it goes on to describe its meaning in various cultural contexts

Usage by meaning

Referring to women

In referring to a woman, cunt is an abusive term usually considered the most offensive word in that context and even more forceful than bitch. This is particularly true in America, where the word is solely used referring to women or sometimes even a rather feminine man, while in the UK and Ireland, the word is an insult which can be used for anyone, much akin to calling someone a bastard or wanker. In the film One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, the central character McMurphy, when pressed to explain exactly why he doesn’t like the tyrannical Nurse Ratched, says, “she’s something of a cunt, ain’t she, Doc?”[43] It can also be used to imply that the sexual act is the primary function of a woman.During the UK Oz trial for obscenity in 1971, prosecuting counsel asked writer George Melly “Would you call your 10-year-old daughter a cunt?” Melly replied “No, because I don’t think she is.”

I know it an offensive term and I apologize if that is a problem for anyone but in fact I think it describes her perfectly because she was more than a bitch-calling her a bitch would imply that she was openly demanding things go her way. No, my co-worker was much more evil and deceitful than that. She always had to be right, even if it meant lying or embarrassing another team member. So no, I don’t think I was too harsh.

In the few very short weeks since she left, our department has become friendlier… more calm, cooperative and productive!!!

TEAMWORK

2 thoughts on “maybe I was a little harsh…

Leave a Reply

