back in business

After almost 3 years, I finally have a place to do some stained glass. It’s just a hobby but it’s creative and keeps me out of trouble.
one of the things about stained glass is I really need a dedicated space because of the tiny pieces of glass, the soldering iron etc. I can’t do it sitting on the sofa watching tv or at the kitchen table…
so now I have a little corner of the basement with good lighting, a window and a big triple utility sink just steps away!
Berwyn-20131229-00076

Berwyn-20131229-00077

IMG-20131229-00078

I feel an obsession for mosaics coming on…..it will be a little easier to do once my new semester of school starts up in January. I plan to do smaller, free form things for the garden.

One more step towards settling in/down(?)….whatever the opposite of packing/moving/unpacking is.

6 thoughts on “back in business

  1. Yay, that’s great news! I’m trying to become inspired by this guy I recently met who is practically self-sustainable – should go back to soap making or jam making to keep up with his beer, wine and champagne making!!

    Anyway, looking forward to seeing photos of some of your projects as you complete them. 🙂

  2. I am so glad you ladies have passions!! I wish i had my own space and time to do mine.. I always think of ” A Room Of My Own” by Woolf… but then it always makes me sad that she committed suicide.. anyway.. I would make quilts… but I have so much other stuff I need to get done before hand,,.. plus I don’t have the space but I continue to collect patterns and ideas… One day..

  3. Quilting – what a great idea Maria! Hope you get the sewing machine sorted; my daughter has started to learn quilting and her first effort has turned out quite well…it’s improving her sewing skills as well.

    Don’t be hard on yourself though – my kids were in their early teens before I even considered things like making soap – there was just no time…

  4. I have a sewing machine but it is at my mom’s and she thinks it’s hers..not worth the effort to get it back.. when I get seriuous about it I will..I have stuff svaed form my girls’ clothes .. that would be one I’d love to make.. kind of like a tangible walk down memory lane..

Leave a Reply

