garden dreams

It’s been a few years since I have had my own garden…and a Chicago garden is a whole different type of garden than one in Birmingham England.
It is deep, freezing cold winter here in Chicago but by July and August it will be oven-roasting hot!
England always just sort of limps along-not too cold and not too hot~~
I have a small but wide open canvas here-we put in a 4×8 raised bed in the front and planted a rose bush, hydrangea, peonies, irises (i love irises!) and a bunch of bulbs-the question is- what will survive this weather?
We also have a 4×8 raised bed in the back for vegetables.
I just realized (with the help of Pinterest) that we really need to start make a plan for this little space!
What will we plant in this little space??? tomatoes, peppers, sweet and hot?…cucumbers? melons? maybe the herbs can go in pots? what about beets? leeks? and beans, peas and lettuce? oh, my….

DSCN0198Warning: lots of garden pictures over the next 8 months

One thought on “garden dreams

  1. I grew up with my dad ‘making ‘ a grden of sorts by cutting into our driveway so along both sides of the driveway which was concrete was two strips of plants.. 98% were ‘useful” ones and the rest were flowers..roses.. and flowers he replanted if we had given them to my mom let’s say in a can for a mother’s day project from school.. SSOOOO I am all about the stuff you will use..I LOVED being called to pull out the green onions when my needed two… Green beans, we had grapes… Rosemary… tomatoes.. all kinds of stuff.. A good childhood memory..thanks T

Leave a Reply

