yooooo hooooo?

That reminds me of an air force joke…when I was in the US Air Force a few hundred years ago some mechanics told me that when they ran  a newbie through the routine flight checks they would tell him he had to climb up into one of the engines and holler yooo-hooo…!

Airman Basic Smith would obediently do it until he heard the rest of the flight crew laughing hysterically on the ground and realize they were just taking the piss.

My valentine is off to Florida to visit his elderly parents which is also a blast from the past. He is flying to West Palm Beach…the same place I used to fly to as a very adventurous young woman to visit my then boyfriend.

Valentine and I are like a semi detached house, a duplex. Very close, comfy and connected but there is still that wall that clearly says this is my space.

So what’s up now? today? this weekend? In Chicago we have traded blizzards and a polar vortex for torrential thunderstorms…

I didn’t get a haircut or my eyebrows waxed….

I did get new glasses which is a very good thing for someone who A) needs them to drive legally and B) has lots of articles to read with small print.

This weekend, starting tomorrow night will be a homework marathon.  I met with my problematic, makes me want to drop out professor yesterday. She is a nice woman and very helpful but her office is piled to the ceiling with papers and journals and books and well….more papers! That explained a lot.

She is only half my problem with school, the other half is still distressed older son.

I can’t say anything right, everything I say to him turns out wrong.

I am on a daily basis questioning the world we live in that would allow our greatest promise for the future, young adult men and women to languish unemployed, over educated, bored and hopeless.

Well, how’s that for a tour of the mind of tracya? and some people call me crazy….hrrrmph….

2 thoughts on “yooooo hooooo?

  1. I am on a daily basis questioning the world we live in that would allow our greatest promise for the future, young adult men and women to languish unemployed, over educated, bored and hopeless.” so much worse in Sicily where my cousins etc are.. plus they have the problem of nearby Africa and those islands near by just getting on a boat and coming over..My aunt says crime is crazy and the poverty and suicide of grown men (fathers) who can’t support their families is such a sad affair… UUgghh!! I worry about the future as well 😦

  2. oh, I agree it is worse in Europe-Spain, Italy etc. I think the “youth” unemployment rate is around 50%. it’s weird to go to Target or when I was at PetSmart yesterday and have a middle aged man scanning my purchase.
    Doesn’t help my friend is predicting total worldwide economic collapse by 2016 or 2020 “at the latest” 😦

Leave a Reply

