Rough week

It’ s hard to believe that after weeks of regular posting this week just kicked my ass. Hard to believe my last post was Sunday and now today is….????…..Friday?

So the question is~~~what has occupied my time this week?

hhmmm…a tropical holiday? exploring cultural landmark’s? gut busting workouts? exhilarating hikes in the woods? socializing with friends?

Naaah, work, of course! work from my desk, presentations, rounds in the hospital, compiling reports!!

We remain short staffed so I am chained to my desk trying to keep up with regular day to day stuff but in addition there are “infection control emergencies”….like when I got called this week by CDPH~yes, that stands for Chicago Department of Public Health. Usually, that means a call from Bertha about an STD (sexually transmitted disease). For Bertha, syphilis is an emergency in a woman who’s just had a baby.

This time however I was called by Massimo about two of our patients with something like this. If you think MRSA is scary, you should read about CRE.

Another “emergency” happened today when I went to a meeting in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care). I was immediately greeted by the attending MD saying they tried to call me the day before (huh? I was at my desk) because a mom was very upset because her baby was screened for MRSA on admission (right after birth) as required by law and was positive. So we also screen the moms nose and this mom was negative. Now this is what makes my job interesting….where does a newborn-as in fresh out of the oven-get MRSA? Well, in the past we assumed it was from the mom’s vajaja. But remember, we swabbed her nose.

So this mom is ballistic saying “we” the hospital gave her baby MRSA and she is going to sue the hospital…

Pretend you are an Infection Control Practitioner-what would you tell this mom??? (answer to follow)

This week I also had my monthly CLABSI Prevention meeting. I was shocked that more than 20 people showed up including a few doctors! I led the meeting with support from my medical director. This all gives me a sense of being tested because the elephant in the room is that my application for my bosses job, Associate Director has been reviewed and forwarded to the selection team….

Next week after 2 major presentations, I am checking out for a brief New York holiday just to decompress in preparation for a round of interviews made even more stressful because I work with these people. I will actually be interviewed by my co-workers that I eat lunch with now….AWKWARD….

Saying allllll that, I have not worked out for almost 2 weeks and my leg is killing me…

Last, I have been enjoying and cultivating Project: spring/color/hope and here is an update-I predict an actual crocus flower by the end of the weekend!Berwyn-20140228-00127 Berwyn-20140228-00128

 

 

2 thoughts on “Rough week

Leave a Reply

