What’s your vice?

I think it only fair that after several posts about the struggles my son was going through, I share a view from the other side. I’ve never tried to hide my life as a single mom and try to be honest with myself and everyone else that my kids did not have the best of me growing up. I was so torn between supporting a disintegrating husband/marriage and just plain working to pay the bills, it was survival most of the time, plain and simple.

I went to England for various reasons~exploring something new, running away from old pain, coming out of a dark place.

Unfortunately, my older son got lost in the shuffle, I need to step up and make up for that.

My son has a typical story, starting smoking pot young, kept smoking pot, wanted and tried to quit many times and when he finally got serious about quitting, he got anxious, depressed and paranoid.

Be neither proud nor ashamed of your vices

Obviously in the whole scheme of things I wish none of my kids would have any “issues” but the reality is there is a whole spectrum of “vices” including gambling, heroin, extra marital affairs, alcohol, shopping, eating disorders, obsessive-compulsion, self-harming…

Smoking pot is pretty middle of the road and as the whole country goes “legal” it’s important to remember that there are plenty of legal vices so it’s just a matter of degree. I go shopping, have a drink and buy a lottery ticket but I don’t spend money I don’t have or drive home drunk.

I know from experience that it is a fine line between between recreational pot smoking and being dependent on smoking pot. Happy to say my son has, after several months of distress, quit smoking pot and is pretty much a new person! Engaged, motivated, relaxed~

I am heading back to New York on Friday ~on the train~ to spend next week with my Easter baby on his 30th birthday. With an interview at New York Presbyterian Hospital. More big decisions!!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “What’s your vice?

    • engaged in life not to a girl!!! like he has been hanging out with his cousins, aunts and uncles in New York, something that was always there but he never felt like doing before

Leave a Reply

