Unemployment Day #1

Technically I am no longer employed, resignation letter given months ago and amended to reflect a mutual agreement to stay 3 extra weeks. Desk cleaned, 3.5 years of work reduced to 4-5 folders and 50 or so e-folders.

IMG-20140815-00211

I say technically because my new Associate Director/Manager of 3 months “didn’t know how things work here” and failed to get me a checklist where I would go to various departments and sign off. Places like….IT, parking, finance, security. The result is that I still have access to the hospital intranet and my email and being the disgruntled employee that I am I could be doing interesting things.

I also should have set up an appointment for an exit interview with the nursing dept-but I set that up for Tuesday myself…

The new AD is really pissing people off in my department-she likes to pontificate and drone on and on like a 80 year old priest at a catholic mass. She talks about the big picture, the long term goals  but is missing the here and now which is up to the eyeballs and urgent. I have been able to brush it off because I knew I was leaving but I do feel for my comrades left on the battlefield of healthcare.

She pissed me off big time because she was supposed to go over some data reports we compile before I left-keeping in mind that she had a bonus extra three weeks. She talked about it and I made myself available but she is so laid back, she makes willie nelson look hyperactive and because she is busy texting her husband and kids all day she just never got around to it.

There is a rule at my employer and most others I presume that you can’t call in sick on your last day-you MUST show up which I did and swiped in promptly at 7am. However, it doesn’t say how long you have to stay and the general rule for salaried employees is 4.5 hours counts for a full day.

At 8.55am after I had already attended a meeting (on my last day!) she stopped by my desk and patted me on the shoulder (grrrrrr) and make some comment about saying my goodbyes (grrrrrrr) and that she had to go to a meeting  from 9-11am and how about we meet about, umm, say 1pm to sit down and go over the report. I said “uhm yeh, sure” but in my head I was thinking

are-you-crazy

*taking a big breath*

I left my pager, ID and office key on my desk and went to say goodbye to various people I like and have worked with over many years and had a coffee with a good friend until almost exactly 4.5 hours and then toddled off into the proverbial sunset feeling quite satisfied with the work I had produced during my employment and with zero regrets.

About 1.45pm my cell phone rings and because I actually turned on the volume because I was waiting for a repairman and I actually answered it ignoring that it was an unfamiliar number…I find myself talking to the AD. She asks if I am coming back to talk about the report or maybe to say goodbye. She seems stunned when I surprise even myself and say “NO! I am finished, I am not coming back!” I add that she was supposed to get me a checklist and because I hadn’t properly checked out I couldn’t even get out of the parking garage!!

She genuinely seemed to think that I would spend Friday afternoon, a perfect summer Friday afternoon, my last day Friday afternoon going over reports that she had weeks if not months to review?????

th (2)

My first day of unemployment means two weeks of rest and relaxation.

relax rana

3 thoughts on “Unemployment Day #1

  1. it’s the lack of common sense or reality that is really gold medal quality! she’s smart and she knows alot of stuff but missing plain old real world application.

    as for me? totally enjoying my 2 weeks off-squeezing every last minute out of our fabulous summer!!!

Leave a Reply

