back to school! er, I mean back to work!!!

The move, the transition from living/working in Chicago to New York City is complete…all that is left is being handed my new ID badge at orientation tomorrow morning! It’s become apparent during the “on-boarding” process that I actually accepted this position back in May-May 8th to be exact- I saw the offer letter last week.

No one can say this was a lightening fast, flash decision, in fact it almost didn’t happen at several junctures for many different reasons but every time I felt it was the best thing to do at that particular moment-given the complicated circumstances.

I suppose the “correctness” of any major life changing event is understanding how you got “there”~whatever, wherever “there” is. As I sit here, at this moment in time, on the eve of starting a new job I feel pretty good about the whole thing. Basically, my old job had become untenable-I am still working on a lawsuit against (not the hospital) the lawyer who missed the deadline to sue the hospital, my old boss left and was replaced by a very naive, pollyanna director who would have driven me crazy. On this end I have been welcomed into a very stable, organized department at a verrrrry posh hospital (#1 in NYC).

Of course there are trade-offs-in this case: my garden, my boyfriend, my cat.

Too soon to know how it will all play out but I am hopeful!!!

3 thoughts on “back to school! er, I mean back to work!!!

Leave a Reply

