driving in fog

I am a certified worrier, I make myself sick and depressed worrying not so much about myself but about those around me and the world in general.

This week I was in my alternate state of mind which is to be completely spaced out just letting anything come into my head. I had a very clear visual of what worrying feels like and why I need to stop.

What-to-do-in-Driving-in-Fog

I think worrying is like driving in the fog- that hyper-vigilent state of trying to see into the darkness around you. It’s stressful and tiring. Maybe you can’t just plow on blindly but you can pull over and stop for a break, slow down or take a different route?

5 thoughts on “driving in fog

  1. This is just what I’m working on with my stress counsellor – how to ‘break up’ stressful thoughts (and worries) – it’s not easy, as I’m sure you know. For me, though, 99% of all my worries are work-related, but even then, it’s not easy – I’ve been away from work for a week over the holidays and I am having a hard time remembering what I was worried about. Until tonight, that is, when I started to feel fear about going back to work! So, I got out my paperwork to look at the ‘Big 5’ – they’re things we all know, but it’s hard to remember any of them when in the midst of worry – 1. What are the chances that the worry is going to happen? 2. What is actually, realistically the worst thing that could happen? 3. Am I right to think that? (Weighing the evidence – like, I’m a failure – where’s your evidence; or, everyone’s looking at me – where’s you evidence?) 4. Will this worry (even if it came true) matter in 5 years? 5. What is this worth? Meaning, life is too short to worry about stuff that is not likely to happen.

    The only one of these (so far) that I find useful where work is concerned is #2 – I am always worried I’m not going to get things done in time, or I’ll do something completely wrong, or miss a component in making a change in a student’s record, etc, etc., Yet, I rarely make mistakes, even under great stress because I follow things through step-by-step. What IS the worst that could happen, etc, etc.

    I am really just at the beginning of practicing this step – I’ll be using it this week when I go back to work – and then next week, a new enrolment period starts, so hopefully, it will come in handy.

    Perhaps you’ll find some use in some of this stuff? When I remember to use it, I’m enjoying the relaxation CD I’ve been sent…don’t know yet how it is going to help with overall stress, but it certainly is relaxing!

    • thanks Julie! I guess I know those things but putting them in action is the hard part just like the yoga mat on my bedroom floor…just curious is the relaxation CD someone talking, music, or nature sounds?

      The other issue for me is that some people I know seem to take great pleasure flaunting their relaxed, no-worry attitude-very frustrating….

  2. The CD is talking – a man with a very gentle voice and nice Scottish accent!

    I know what you mean about the attitude – I get advice from Jonathan about having a ‘don’t give a shit attitude’…works for him, sure.

  3. I think you’re right about the worry thing (and the Scottish accent, actually – I keep thinking he’s Neil Oliver from Coast)…it’s difficult to live in the present. This week, I’m having no problems with worries of any kind. Next week may be a different story!

Leave a Reply

