Straight from the patients mouth

Here’s a random collection of emails from my brother:

The pacemaker is installed.  Everything went really well and I’m waiting to hear back from the doctor that I can eat so I can lock my fevered lip around some of the delicious looking food you brought.  It’s set at 60 BPM so theoretically, at least, most of the time it will sit there doing nothing.

 

This just in:  Speech Path stopped by and they have put me back on solid foods but I don’t think I’ll be able to eat Captain Crunch out of the box in the near future.  Imagine that there’s a Tupperware container in the back of your fridge containing a slice of lasagna.  You forget about it for a few months and then you open it one day and it’s all green and disgusting.  I don’t know exactly how or why but the type of cancer I have makes everything taste like the contents of that Tupperware container.  Sour and rotten.  So being able to eat anything doesn’t guarantee that I’ll be able to enjoy much of anything.

You should take a night off and do something that you like to do, for no other reason than that it makes you happy.
That smoked chicken ravioli was really good.  The first time I’ve finished a full meal in weeks.  Thanks
The flowers are over by the sink.  When it’s time for shit to start happening it’s going to start happening  I was tired and depressed all day about the pain med problem and I think I’m catching a cold so I didn’t pay much attention to what the Oncology Team had to say.  It was basically that I’ll be doing radiology M-F for several weeks and chemo once a week.  I don’t want to obsess on details because the details don’t really mean much.  It’s just a big fucking toss of the coin.
I had been going round and round with these people for a day.  Your phone call probably tipped the scales.  Thanks
I just need a bigass desk and a place to sleep.  I pirated a couple of sips of water today.  These people deal with all types so I’m trying to be as patient as possible.  But being taken off a pain management plan that was working and put back on Tylenol with no explanation was really pissing me off.

Leave a Reply

