Round 2

My brother has a sunny disposition-at least that’s what he presents to me. He used to go scuba diving in Australia and Thailand, it’s a passion for him. I saw a special diving program for vets right here in Chicago. Under “normal” circumstances, this would be perfect for him. A man with a tracheostomy is not exactly “normal” particularly in an activity that depends on specialized breathing apparatus.

I don’t think I’ll be able to dive under any circumstances with a trach.  But I’m going to lean on ENT to remove it when I go back to see them in July.

As I said, he is very optimistic. Tomorrow he is having a CT to see if there is any improvement in his tumors….the ones on his liver, spine and femur.

Wednesday he sees his oncologist to discuss the next round of chemotherapy.

I am less optimistic but then I never feel the need to rub someones face in the unfortunate aspects of their lives. We all need to have our own version of reality.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Round 2

  1. hugs Tracy.. It’s amazing how perspective and having a strong mind and spirit is so earth shattering in how everything will go… I wish my parents were positive,…they have nothing on your bro yet they drag and stomp the life out of everyone …

Leave a Reply

