England….again?

After living in England for 8 years, working as a nurse for 7 years and 180 days and having a small house over there… I maintain a precarious immigration status called ILR-Indefinite Leave to Remain.

It’s more than a work permit but less than citizenship. In the event that I eventually want to exercise my right to apply for British citizenship I will have to show:

  • Indefinite leave to remain or “equivalent” for this purpose must have been held for 12 months
  • the applicant must intend to continue to live in the UK or work overseas for the UK government or a British corporation or association
  • the same “good character” standards apply as for those married to British citizens
  • the same language and knowledge of life in the UK standards apply as for those married to British citizens

There is a caveat to ILR in that “intend to live in the UK”  is generally interpreted as no more than 2 years without a visit. So I have visited my friends and house/tenants 3 times in the past 6 years for the all important passport stamp in my second/expired passport that holds my ILR.

Once again in January, I traveled to England like I was just sporting off to the other side of town. Seriously, I have made this trip so many times it’s like second nature. On this trip I really thought about how this is the only place, of the many I have visited, that I have returned to again and again.

I have lots of emotional connections to this particular part of England and there are several friends I love to see

Maybe someday I’ll move back there…

6 thoughts on “England….again?

  1. Have you looked at the application form? You also need to take the ‘Life in the UK’ test. You’d be best off to try to get seconded back to the UK for a few months so you could use a UK job and UK address on the application form.

    Anyway, look forward to seeing you again in less than 2 years. 🙂

  2. I doubt I will take that route. British citizenship doesn’t bring much advantage for me but it’s good to have plan B in case things go tits up here… I’m thinking about a canal boat for my next trip!!!

Leave a Reply

