Return of the avocado

Way back I used to post about using avocado pits to grow plants. I think I mentioned the standard method is to place toothpicks in the pit and suspend it over water until a root appears.

Now I have had hit or miss success with this-some very promising pits just never produce a root. I’ve waited months…and taken lots of teasing during the long wait…with about equal duds as pits that sprouted. It’s always  a moment of redemption when after months of waiting the pit finally begins to grow. Read more here

This week though I was able to jump start the whole process hen I cut open beautifully ripe Florida avocado (left below)

avocado10

and found a pit already sprouted!!

I placed the aforementioned toothpicks and put it in water just waiting for the root to grow a little more and the plant to sprout from the top.

Avocados do make lovely plants and I have in the past had one that grew to about 5 feet tall. They will never bear fruit but they have big green leaves so hopefully this pit will give some good results. I really need some good results~~

2 thoughts on “Return of the avocado

  1. I’m super proud of you for keeping up with your rez!! I am in ‘Lent” mode so I am a bit harsher with my “stuff” …but movies are lovely..it’s like a book..let’s you escape… glad you liked it.. ya some stuff affects people differently..even watching the same thing again..I notice I will react differently even though I know it’s coming!!! weird!!

Leave a Reply

